Layouts

Grow Old Along with Me – Layout

DSC_0125

I’m about to confess one of my worst scrapbook hoarding habits: I fear using really pretty things. Typically, it’s because it makes me sad thinking they are no longer in my potential products-I-could-use inventory or (in this case) the product is so beautiful I’m afraid I could never do it justice. I’ve clung tightly to this gorgeous 12 x 12 gold vellum overlay from the “World Traveler” collection by Chic Tags since July of 2014 … I know, it’s shameful. The collection isn’t even listed on their blog anymore. Well I finally tackled it. And at first I really struggled (see below picture of blah)

DSC_0117

Good lighting really makes all the difference – Gold foil is HARD to photograph.

Once I was able to choose a base background, the rest really fell into place. I went with a book page patterned paper from the “Do it Yourself” 12 x 12 paper pad by American Crafts.. Check out their lovely Studio Blog here. For layering underneath the photograph, I used several patterned pages from My Mind’s Eye 6 x 6 paper pads, Stella & Rose • Mabel, and Pretty Things by Juliana Kneipp. Visit MME’s blog here to see their paper products in action. Wood veneer, enamel dots, and some bits of Project Life cards, brought this page together.

DSC_0129

DSC_0127

I am so happy with the results! I’m glad I overcame my fear of using pretty items. I hope you do something crafty today that scares you.

DSC_0122

♥ Rachel

Leave a Reply

