Layouts

My Forever Date – Mixed-Media Layout

Lately I’ve been seeing several gorgeous layouts with hand-stitched elements that I totally envy! Like this one:

Flower Girl layout by Ashley Horton for Hip Kit Club

Go check out Ashley Horton’s blog. She hand stitches with the best of ’em.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t grow up learning to sew, or maybe I’m just not great at venturing outside my comfort zone, but I felt this technique was not something I could ever incorporate myself. BUT I did some research (i.e., What’s a backstitch?) and dug out some embroidery floss that really I have no business owning in the first place – and decided I would give it a shot. Cue this process video by Missy Whidden (blog here) who creates beautiful mixed media layouts. And lo and behold here’s my hand-stitching for beginners + mixed media layout 

My Forever Date - Hand stitched + mixed media scrapbook layout

Gesso + Stencils = swoon

My Forever Date - Hand stitched + mixed media scrapbook layout

It may only be two tiny hexagons, but it’s a start 😉

DSC_0299

[I’m really loving all things Hip Kit Club right now & just recently joined their monthly kit subscription – excited for my first kit to arrive sometime in the next week.]

 

♥Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

