technique · Tutorial

Highlighting a Patterned Background – 12 x 12 Layout

Happy Saturday everyone!

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not so great at using colorful papers. As a Hip Kit Club subscriber, I’ve received lots of gorgeous patterned paper (rightly so) these summer months. I wanted to push myself to use some patterned paper in its entirety for a background, rather than pairing it with a solid cardstock like I tend to do.

#simplestories #sunshineandhappiness #hipkitclub #shakerpocket

I chose this geometric paper from the Sunshine & Happiness line by Simple Stories. I also used floral printed paper from that same line to get some fussy-cut flowers to tuck behind my picture. Ready for the easy secret to adding dimension? Simply cut out parts from the background and layer them with foam dots! I used my X-acto knife for this, simply picking a few triangles surrounding my picture I wanted to give dimension to. I tucked some coordinating black and white polka-dot paper in the open spaces & snuck in a little triangular shaker pocket.

#simplestories #sunshineandhappiness #hipkitclub #shakerpocket

I hand-stitched around another triangle and did some black highlighting for added emphasis. I finished off with some painted wood veneer pieces, enamel dots, brads from that same Simple Stories line, and some fringed paper. Oh, and can’t forget that exclusive  ephemera designed by Kim Watson. I loved this technique! It’s quick and easy and allows beautiful patterned paper to be highlighted without creating a too-busy layout.

 

♥ Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

