Layouts · technique

Hooray – Hip Kit Club April Kit – Layout

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love pink. I don’t think I could ever get sick of pink in paper crafts (in contrast there is basically no pink in my house/wardrobe). However, this layout includes my adorable, spunky nephew who is really any color but pink. So, I comprised (didn’t eliminate) because, well pink. I was also itching to use this gorgeous thick-striped paper in the Little Moments collection by Elle’s Studio. I really love the scissor cut layered fringe look and the depth it adds to the page. I layered the fringe-cut paper onto a divided background, half wood-grain (swoon) half green sprig paper, both found in the Hip Kit Club April Kit.

"Hooray" Layout (#5) made with Hip Kit Club April Kit

From my own stash I added a paper doily for texture, some Heidi Swapp color shine, and some beautiful burlap and white striped ribbon found at Hobby Lobby. My little town is getting a Hobby Lobby next month and I couldn’t be more excited – the hubs, not so much. Every time I bring it up in excitement he says “bye money.”

"Hooray" Layout (#5) made with Hip Kit Club April Kit

This close up shows: I added washi + scraps of paper leftover from my April Kit and embellished with some ephemera from the Starshine Collection by Shimelle for American Crafts. Did I mention that I LOVE the HKC April Kit cut files?! Can I just say that I think it’s SO wonderful that cut files are included in a monthly kit subscription – to me that comes from a true desire to show appreciation to customers.

DSC_0178 (1)

I stitched on one of the acetate words for my title, and took a page from Missy Whidden’s creative book – backing my photograph with some tissue paper (bonus: the tissue paper was used to pack my April kit!) I really love this picture of my sister and nephew and the way these elements combine feminine and masculine.

P.S. I’m using a trial subscription of Adobe Lightroom.. can you tell? 😉

What photo editing program do you use?

♥ Rachel

Leave a comment